￼ACROPOLIS – HEPTAPYRGION (YEDI KULE)
This impressive fortified area is situated on the NE end of the city walls, within the acropolis –one of the few remaining citadels that are still populated worldwide. Heptapyrgion was built in the 12th century, presumably on an older 9th century fortress and took this name as at first there were seven towers there. The current structure includes ten towers and a small street that goes around it. The north side used to be a part of the city’s Early Christian walls, whereas the towers on the south side were added during the Byzantine period. In 1431, the Ottomans made certain modifications to them, according to an inscription placed above the entrance. Circa 1890 the construction was changed in order to house long-term convicts and newer buildings were added on the inside as well as on the outside area. In 1989, the prison, known by its Turkish name Yedi Kule, was housed elsewhere and the fortress became a monument open to visitors.
To reach Trigonion Tower, you will go past the picturesque Agioi Anargyroi square, under a blanket of plane trees, where you will see Agioi Anargyroi church and small, traditional cafés and restaurants. This is the location of the double gate of Anna Palaiologina (the one lying west is also called Gate of Agioi Anargyroi), constructed by the Byzantine empress in 1355, during her stay in the city.
￼TRIGONION TOWER (ALYSEOS TOWER)
This building stands on the spot where the north and east walls meet. It was built in the 16th century possibly in the place of an earlier tower dating to the Venetian period; the White Tower, Vardaris Tower and Trigonion Tower formed part of the construction works completed by the Turks for the fortification of Thessaloniki. Known as Kastra (Towers), this is a popular sightseeing area for locals and visitors alike since the view of the eastern walls as well as of the entire city is breathtaking from this location.
Source: Greek National Tourism Organisation, visitgreece.gr
Photos: Myrto Adam, blackmilk.gr